Author Archives: stdemetriosadmin

St. Demetrios Feast Day Celebration

Our St. Demetrios community celebrated the Feast Day of St. Demetrios with a Vesperal service on Thursday, October 25th followed by Divine Liturgy on Friday, October 26th. Chronia Polla!

VIDEO: 100th Anniversary Celebration

Relive our Joy with the rebirth of St. Demetrios Greek Orthodox church for the next 100 years.
Come revisit our glorious 100th anniversary celebration celebrated in prayer and song. Come and see our church historically restored and enhanced by the resplendent iconography of Panagiotis and Dimitri Christodoulou.

The Arcadian Chorale – St. Demetrios 100th Anniversary Concert

The Arcadian Chorale, under the direction of Marina Alexander, performs a musical tribute to The Great Martyr Demetrios in celebration of the 100th anniversary of St. Demetrios Greek Orthodox Church.

St. Demetrios 100th Anniversary – Hierarchical Divine Liturgy

Hierarchical Divine Liturgy officiated by His Eminence Metropolitan Evangelos. Eastern Federation of Greek Orthodox Choir Musicians performs the premiere of the Divine Liturgy of Saint John Chrysostom in the Fourth Plagal Mode by Anna Gallos, conducted by Nicholas Kyrus and accompanied by Theodora Adzharova.

Memorial Tributes
to Tom & Sylvia Kress

Memorial Tributes to Tom & Sylvia Kress
President Marina Corodemus addressed parishioners in regard to the One-Year Memorial for Sylvia Kress who is considered among the great people of our Church, a Mother of our Church.  She came to Perth Amboy after marrying Tom Kress and, together, they became Ambassadors of our Church.
In her bequest, Sylvia was extraordinarily generous to the Church she and Tom loved so dearly.

Philoptochos President, Stella Wacker, told stories of Sylvia’s devotion to Philoptochos which, at times, may have seemed overwhelming but was always well-intended through her deep caring and commitment to accomplishing her goals.

Sylvia’s nephew, Simon Bogiages, spoke of Tom and Sylvia’s most caring and good-hearted nature.  The Church and its parishioners became their family; their children, which is why they were so generous on many levels. They were available to the Church 24/7; all times of the day.  He, sincerely, thanked everyone on behalf the Kress family for recognizing their beloved aunt and uncle today.